Getting ready for #NaNoWriMo

NaNo-2015-Participant-BannerGetting ready for

#NaNoWriMo

That’s right it’s almost that time of year again. And for the last two years I’ve tried and to tell the truth failed. But each year I get closer and closer. I’ve been thinking why all these people are able to complete their first draft but not me. And not me?


So, I did some digging and found that people do a lot, a lot of planning before starting. Setting up an area, plotting their story, and so on. Therefore, I am taking a ‘page out of their book’ and planning, getting ready ahead of time.
I’ve got an idea, characters, plot, theme, ect. Got some of my favorite teas set aside. Hair ties and clips. While I have that there is so much more. Working out time for the story and to share about it. Finding writing buddies to work with, tips and tricks. The list is long! Looking on YouTube for videos about NaNoWriMo I came by some wonder videos that I’ve put together a playlist. (Still adding more videos to it!)

One of my favorites I found is by M. KIRIN ‘How to Plan a Novel Complete Workshop’. While watching this, he talks about several amazing writing tips. But my favorite thing was how he talked about characters… (I’m not going to start taking about this video but I am  going to be writing a different post about his vid, what I learned and liked.)
I went online to my library and put some writing books on hold. Got notebooks, pens, flashcard, sticky note, my next stop it to put together a few different play list to help me while writing. Also, going to be starting to do random writing prompts.

Here are some links were I get my writing prompts from!
http://maxkirin.tumblr.com/tagged/story%20seeds
http://www.writingforward.com/writing-prompts/creative-writing-prompts/25-creative-writing-prompts

This one is more for blog ideas but it still works great!
http://www.buildyourownblog.net/the-blog-post-ideas-generator/

This year I really want to reach the goal and complete the draft to my story. Maybe meet some new people, grow as a writing and just enjoy writing.

A few amazing writing quotes!

“don’t be afraid to let the words fall from the fingertips and write the story you always dreamed of…there is always someone out there that will fall in love with your imagination and heart.” — Jeniann Bowers (Poetry Is…???)

“If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.” ― Toni Morrison

“Start writing, no matter what. The water does not flow until the faucet is turned on.” ― Louis L’Amour

“You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you.”
Ray Bradbury, Zen in the Art of Writing

“random thoughts allow words to play, to the writer it means to twist & turn the words to create a masterpiece that no one else has ever done.”
Jeniann Bowers (Poetry Is…???)

“If you want to be a writer, you must do two things above all others: read a lot and write a lot.” ― Stephen King

If you have any writing tips or tricks for tackling NaNoWriMo, please share them!

nanowrimo-2015_0

Leave a Reply

